By 15th November 2018

Westworld were formed in 1987 by former Generation X guitarist Bob “Derwood” Andrews and American vocalist Elizabeth Westwood.

hey were immediately signed by Korda Marshall at BMG (later to sign Madonna, Ash, Garbage, The Darkness). Derwood’s trademark riffing and Elizabeth’s natural good looks, charisma and prowess as a “real” singer, propelled their first single to number 11 in the UK charts.

Sonic Boom Boy sold in excess of a quarter of a million copies and went on to be a big hit in many other countries including Japan, Australia, Germany, France, Italy and Scandinavia.

The second single Banana Bamboo got to number 22 in the UK and was also a hit in numerous other territories.
The follow up singles Silver Mac and Where the Action Is were also UK top 40 hits.

The band released two albums on BMG before signing to Savage Records in New York in 1991.

The band toured all over Europe in support of their BMG releases during 87/88/89.

  • Billy Ocean
  • Tony Hadley
  • Marc Almond
  • Thompson Twins' Tom Bailey
  • Midge Ure
  • Go West
  • Nick Heyward
  • Nik Kershaw
  • Heaven 17
  • Cutting Crew
  • Altered Images
  • Sonia
  • Brother Beyond
  • Belouis Some
  • Owen Paul
  • Jennie "BelleStar" Matthias
  • Musical Youth
  • Black Lace's Conga Party
  • Westworld

Our Sponsors

Copyright © UK Live Ltd